HOMAGO Reflection #1

For my first day of hanging out with a new technology feature, I decided that I want to try and find a new app/program that connects to my pedagogical focus which is to create more meaningful connections with my students both in person and from afar. I have talked to my group of teacher friends to pick their brains on “must haves” they would want for a new app. Below I have listed out the main wants from both general education and special education teachers.

  1. Easy to use for both students and parents
  2. Compatible with Google
  3. Connects to content
  4. Engaging for students, yet purposeful

As I reflect on these top four wants the one that sticks out to me the most is simplicity! We teachers are OVERWHELMED. Between the constant planning, parent emails, and students NOT knowing what to do (even though you spend 3 hours after school the day prior making a “how to” Loom, we have found that one more thing would just be a lot to handle. That is why on my quest for a new app/site I want to find something that is simple! I want to find an app that allows my students to create a new connection with me, all while staying engaged and connect it to my content I am teaching in class. Wish me luck

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *